Gluten-Free Chex Mix

I made a batch of Chex Mix yesterday, and I can never make it again.  The temptation is too much for me to bear.  I cannot resist stopping by the pantry for a handful each time I walk into the kitchen, so please allow me to post this recipe and then hide it forever.

Store bought Chex mix is not gluten-free, but it is also not as good as homemade.  I used the recipe from the Pioneer Woman, which adds in fresh garlic and a little Tabasco, making sure to use only Corn Chex and Rice Chex and gluten-free pretzels.

Here’s the link to the recipe on thepioneerwoman.com.

And, here it is written out as the Gluten-free version:

Ingredients
  • 4 1/2 cups Corn Chex
  • 4 1/2 cups Rice Chex
  • 2 cups Gluten-free Pretzel Sticks
  • 2 cups Mixed Nuts
  • 1 stick (to 1 1/2 Sticks) Butter)
  • 3 Tablespoons Worcestershire Sauce
  • 6 dashes (to 12 Dashes) Tabasco Sauce
  • 3 cloves (to 5) Garlic, Mashed
  • 1 teaspoon Lawry’s Seasoned Salt
  • ¼ teaspoons Onion Powder
Preparation Instructions

Dump cereal into a large mixing bowl. Add in pretzel sticks and nuts.

In a microwave-safe bowl, add remaining ingredients and microwave until butter is melted. Stir together and toss into a cereal mixture, stirring as you go.

Transfer mix onto one or two baking sheets, and bake in a 250-degree oven for 1 hour and 15 minutes, stirring every 15 minutes. Let cool and store in an airtight container.

Grab a handful every forty minutes. Eat. Spoil your appetite.

3 Comments

Filed under Snacks

3 responses to “Gluten-Free Chex Mix

  1. Stephanie

    I just read the ingredients and I can smell the mix cooking already! No wonder you can’t help yourself! I’m gonna have to try this!

  2. Dawn

    I love chex mix…. and have made it GF before – but had never thought of adding tabasco or fresh garlic (duh!). Can’t wait to try that! And just gotta say – I LOVE your addition at the end…. made me chuckle out loud!

    • Oh, the garlic and tabasco add a whole new level to the Chex Mix!! I hope you love it as much as I do, but have a bit more self control going for you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

