Green Smoothies

Today my kids and I had a snack where we each ate 2 cups collard greens, a cup of mixed greens, 1/3 of a banana, a cup of strawberries, a tablespoon of flax oil, and 1/4 cup blueberries, sweetened with a little Stevia.

Can you imagine eating that many servings of fruits and veggies in one sitting, much less in one day, and getting your kids to love it too?

My kids beg me for this snack every day now.

My secret?

I throw it all in a high-powered blender with some ice, and make it into a Green Smoothie.

This is my new revolution of health – GREEN SMOOTHIES.

I know it sounds and looks weird, but they really are delicious.  And, I can’t think of a better way to incorporate raw greens into our diet.  The nutrition in one glass packs a powerful punch, and the taste is a treat.

First, you really do need a powerful blender, like the Blentec or Vitamix.  The price is worth the investment.  I’ve used mine over 200 times since February 14th to make smoothies, gluten-free flatbread from soaked whole seeds and grains (recipe coming soon), whole grain banana muffins, soups, salsas, dips, ice creams, …the list goes on.  And, the ingredients are all whole foods that are so good for you and so yummy.

This is my Blentec, my new kitchen best friend, filled with collard greens and mixed greens.

When you first introduce the idea of green smoothies, it’s best to start small.  Use mild greens, like spinach, and do half fruit and half veggies.  Add in grapes and blueberries to make purple smoothies at first, use lots of ice, and serve it in a fun glass with a straw.  Don’t let your kids know at first what you put in there.  Slowly shift your ratios to more greens, and begin adding different greens- collard, swiss chard, mustard, romaine, etc..  We like greens, strawberries, blueberries, and a banana as our favorite smoothie.

If you’re interested in learning more, please go to greensmoothiegirl.com She’s the expert, and she has great ideas and recipes on her website.

I love making this treat for my kids!  Nutrition feels so good!

3 Comments

Filed under Snacks

3 responses to “Green Smoothies

  1. Ahhh We LOVE green smoothies in our family 🙂 YUM!!!!

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Green Smoothies « Easily Gluten Free -- Topsy.com

  3. gleefulfood

    this is an awesome idea, not just for kids. thanks for sharing, I will definitely try this.

Leave a Reply

