Kale Chips

Kale Chips are pure, simple, healthful food.  They might sound weird, but the unexpected crispy crunch just melts in your mouth.  A whole plateful provides less than 140 calories (almost all from olive oil) and packs a nutritious punch.

Wash and dry one bunch of kale.  Massage a tablespoon of oil into every leaf, then place on a baking sheet in a single layer.  Bake at 350 for 10-12 minutes until leaves are crispy but not browned.  Season with kosher salt and garlic powder.

I eat kale for snack or even for dinner.  My picky eater joined me yesterday and began grabbing the chips off my plate.  If he can try them and like them, I’ll bet you will too.

3 Comments

Filed under Snacks

3 responses to “Kale Chips

  1. I love this blog! I cannot imagine making Kale chips for my family or myself, and yet, my mouth is watering.

  2. I made these last night with the kale you left here (thanks!). However, most if the leaves did not get crispy. They browned on the edges, but were wilty and chewy in the middle. The ones that did get crispy were good, though. I will blame this on my oven (again)!

    • I think you also have to make sure that you get the olive oil really rubbed into the whole leaf. It also helps if you have fresh kale, so that could have been it too. 🙂 I agree though, the crispy ones are great – the wilty ones, not so much!

Leave a Reply

