Monkey Bread

I tried to make cinnamon rolls, I really did.  I thought I was up for it – all the rolling and spreading and then cutting and baking.  I mixed the dough and let it set to rise.  And I waited and waited.  The dough never moved.  It was dead dough.

But, being gluten-free, it was expensive dough.  And, we don’t waste gluten-free dough around here.  So, I improvised.  I figured if you smothered it with enough butter, brown sugar, and cinnamon, it would taste just the same.

And I was right!  Which means, that from now on, I declare the actual cinnamon roll to be an excessive amount of work on my part.  From now on, we will have Monkey Bread instead, and we’ll all be happy.  The End.

To make Monkey Bread, start with gluten-free dough.  You can make the cinnamon roll dough from this post, or even though I haven’t tried it yet, I think you could also just use a bread dough or even a mix.  That would even increase the beauty of the Lazy Monkey Bread.  Melt some butter in one bowl, and mix some brown sugar and cinnamon in another.  Roll the dough into pieces a little smaller than a golf ball.  Dip each piece into the butter and then into the sugar mixture.  Place into a baking dish, and bake at the temperature suggested for the bread you’re using until they are golden brown and cooked through.  And then, eat some as fast as you can before your family gets to them.  They’ll be gone so fast, you won’t even have time to take a pretty photo of them outside of the pan.

Leave a comment

Filed under Dessert

Leave a Reply

