Chocolate Milkshake

It’s been freezing here lately.  I don’t remember a time when we’ve had temperatures in the teens for almost a week.  We do not know how to handle this weather here in the South!

For some reason, I thought it would help to make “milkshakes” for a snack one day.  Mostly, I was trying to figure out a way to sneak in extra yogurt into my kids bellies to give them some good immune boosting healthy flora to offset the round of antibiotics they had to take.  We had a great science discussion on bacteria as a bonus.  Then we had to sit by the fire for 3 days to warm up again.

My kids have had “real” milkshakes, so I’m not sure why they let me serve my version using the same name.  I don’t use ice cream or sugar.  I use vanilla yogurt, protein powder, and a little chocolate syrup, all blended with ice.  They think it’s a special occasion when they get one, and I think it should be.  It’s fun to make an ordinary day special.  I just tell them we’re celebrating my joy in loving them more today than yesterday.

Leave a comment

Filed under Snacks

Leave a Reply

