Oatmeal

DSC_0230Ahhh, comfort food!  Oatmeal just warms the tummy, doesn’t it?

It’s also full of good nutrition and fiber, and it is very easy to add nutrition boosters to it such as ground flax seeds and ground walnuts.

Because it’s processed on equipment with wheat, oats are not considered gluten-free.  When you see oats listed in ingredients, stay away.  And, if something is labeled as “wheat free”, it probably is NOT gluten-free, usually because it contains oats.

However, there are some companies that grow, harvest, and process oats in a gluten-free way, allowing us to eat them.  My favorite is Bob’s Red Mill gluten-free oats, which you can buy from Amazon.  They also carry them at my local Sprouts, and the whole store heard an audible cheer  when I found them that glorious day a few months ago.

The great news is that now with gluten-free oats, you can have oatmeal, homemade granola, fruit crisps, and oatmeal cookies.  Yippee!  Thank you Mr. Bob and your lovely Red Mill for bringing oats back into my life.

DSC_0293

3 Comments

Filed under Breakfast

3 responses to “Oatmeal

  1. I don’t like oatmeal because I had the microwave version every morning at school for 100 years and got sick of it! However, I have a new found pleasure in grits, microwaved and really yummy. The Quaker Oats brand comes in flavors like buttery and cheesy. Great way to get my comfort carbs!
    PS. My Mother’s keychain says,
    “G.R.I.T.S. = Girls Raised In The South”

  2. Courtney

    Funny! I was just thinking about oatmeal, and then you posted this. I need to find some. It is a cold weather comfort food for me. Not that its cold here yet. . . .

    I like to add some ground flax and sometimes a squirt of flax oil instead of butter or milk.

  3. ummmm…..you can’t post a picture like that without a recipe!

Leave a Reply

