Key Lime Pie

DSC_0143DSC_0145DSC_0146

I made myself my very own Key Lime Pie for my birthday.

And, while I thoroughly enjoyed eating the whole pie by myself in 2 days flat, there was something else I enjoyed even more.

Making this pie was a momentous event for me, because it was the first time that having to figure out to make something special from my “former way of life” gluten free didn’t intimidate me AT ALL!  I had seen a recipe I wanted to try, and I just jumped in, knowing I could make it taste just as yummy with a simple substitution.

And, that, my friends, is so KEY!  (get it?…KEY?!)  🙂  Knowing how to make an easy substitution to make  a recipe gluten free is SIMPLE much of the time.

In this case, I just had to adjust the pie crust, replacing the graham crackers with GF ones.  I used a box of rice crackers by Health Valley.

DSC_0647These are delicious!  They’re so good in fact that I had to dig this box out of the recycling bin to photograph it.  As soon as the box is opened, my kids spread on the peanut butter and banana or jelly for a yummy snack, and they’re gone.  You can use these for S’mores also, or for anything which need a graham cracker-like substitute.  If you’re like me, you will buy some for your family, and then hide some so that when the pie urge hits, you will be prepared.

I used a recipe from the thepioneerwoman.com.  You can find it here.  Just use the GF crackers, and you’re ready.  It’s as easy as pie!  (sorry, couldn’t help it)

Leave a comment

Filed under Dessert

Leave a Reply

