Tuna Noodle Casserole

This recipe is a throwback to my childhood.  My Mom made very simple meals for our family growing up.  Gourmet meals never graced our table.  Instead we ate simple fare.  Mac and cheese, chicken nuggets, sour cream enchiladas, tortilla soup, chicken fried steak, porcupine meatballs, and Hamburger Helper were among my favorites.

My Mom sometimes comments on her “lack of cooking talents”.  What she doesn’t realize though, is that her cooking represented her.  Simple, easy crowd pleasers were her goal.  We loved her cooking.  We still do.  And, as I think about the family culture that I am representing to my kids, I realize that I am pleased to follow in my Mom’s footsteps and philosophy.  I love to cook, but it’s always simple.  I’m all about great taste, but I’m also about efficiency, shortcuts, and nutrition.  If I set a meal from a magazine and a meal from my Mom’s way of cooking on my table, my kids would pick my Mom’s food every time.  Simple,  Easy,  Familiar,  Balanced,  Quick Meals are Crowd Pleasers around here, and I’d like to thank my Mom being my example of a Mom who provides great food in such a balanced way.  :)

Here is an example:

Tuna Noodle Casserole

2 small cans tuna, drained

1 16 oz.pkg. Tinkyada pasta, any shape

1 can Health Valley Cream of Mushroom Soup

a little sour cream if needed for sauce

1 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese

Cook pasta until al dente and drain.  Add soup, tuna, salt, pepper.  Add some sour cream if you need more sauce.  Add in half the cheese.  Put in a casserole dish.  Top with remaining cheese.  Bake at 350 for about 20-30 minutes until bubbly and cheese is melted.

2 Comments

Filed under Dinner

2 responses to “Tuna Noodle Casserole

  1. This looks fantastic! I am constantly looking for new things to make. It’s why I started a blog of my own to share recipes and discover new ones. I hope you don’t mind if I check back with you frequently! =)

    Emily

    http://www.ezsrecipes.com

  2. Neighbor

    This looks so yummy! I know my family likes the brand you mentioned for the pasta…..tuna and cheese?….how can you go wrong with that! This will be on my next grocery list to make for next week! THANK YOU!

Leave a Reply

