My Favorite Gluten-Free Products

DSC_0852Gluten-free products are expensive, so I try to use them sparingly.  But, I do have a few favorites for special treats or recipes or substitutions.

Envirokidz Koala Crisp Cereal makes chocolate “Rice Crispy Treats”

Health Valley Rice Crackers can be used for s’mores, a graham cracker crust, or miniature gingerbread houses.

K-Toos “Oreos” are wonderful on their own or as a pie crust.

I use the Animal Crackers by K-Kritters or Envirokids as the Nilla Wafers in banana pudding.

Those pretzels are going in the classic Chex Mix I’ll be making shortly.

DSC_0849I use these soups from Health Valley to replace Cream of Chicken or Cream of Mushroom Soup in recipes like Potato Casserole, Breakfast Casserole, Beef Stroganoff, or Chicken Tetrazzini.

DSC_0853My favorite brand of flours is Bob’s Red Mill.  I really like Mr. Bob.  I use these 3 flours for my baking mix.

DSC_0854See these?  They’re dangerous.  They’re my weakness.  I’m warning you not to buy them.

DSC_0864I’ve tried lots of pasta, and Tinkyada is the best.  It is just like regular pasta in taste and consistency, except that you will need to spend some of your kids’ college fund to buy it regularly.  I think it’s worth it.

DSC_0866And speaking of spending big bucks, to me sometimes my money isn’t really buying the food.  It’s buying the joy of seeing my kids delight in a donut like any other kid.  Sometimes those smiles are just worth it.

3 Comments

Filed under Product Reviews

3 responses to “My Favorite Gluten-Free Products

  1. My new favorite is the chocolate chip cookie mix from Betty Crocker. I dropped the cookie dough balls onto a PAM greased cookie sheet and froze them. I put them in a Ziploc freezer bag. Now I can cook just a few cookies whenever I please OR defrost the dough a little and add it to vanilla ice cream for GF chocolate chip cookie dough ice cream. YUMMY! However, extra workout/yoga is required after eating this!

  2. Gardengrrl

    What is the brand name of the GF donuts you’ve found to be good? I can’t discern it from the picture…Thanks!

    • easilyglutenfree

      These donuts are by Kinnikinnick. They are similar to cake-like donuts, instead of like the typical glazed. They come in maple glazed, chocolate, and cinnamon sugar. I’ve also made my own cake-like donuts with pretty-good results. I’m still on the look-out for a softer, lighter donut though. Please share if you find a recipe or brand!

Leave a Reply

